The museum was established in 1958 by J. Edmund Bull at his home in Harford County. The museum relocated to The Land of Promise Farm in 1979.
The tract of land known as the Land of Promise Farm was founded in 1684 by Colonel Thomas Taylor. Through the years the land has transferred to various owners through land purchases. It is now the home of Steppingstone Farm Museum through a long term lease from Susquehanna State Park.
Since the start, the Museum has added several structures to the property. One of which is the 100-year-old Blacksmith Shop. Foard Blacksmith Shop was originally located in Level, MD and donated in 1981. The building was relocated to its current location in 1983.
To find out more about our unique history visit one of the links below or stop by the Museum!
The Steppingstone Museum Store offers snack, drinks and souvenirs. A key part of the vision for Steppingstone was to be a living museum. Achieving this has allowed the museum store to offer traditionally hand crafted pieces by museum artists and trades people, made right here on the grounds. Your purchase of these fine items directly supports the museum and spreads the knowledge of our heritage.